race reports

SHRA at San Antonio, Texas

Southwest Heritage Racing Association begins season

Words and photos by JM Hallas

One of the jet vehicles entertaining the crowd was the “Jett Lagg” truck.


San Antonio Raceway hosted the Outlaw Fuel Altered Association and Southwest Heritage Racing Association version of Nitro Jam featuring the nitro-burning Fuel Altereds, Dragsters, Funny Cars, plus Nostalgia Super Stocks racing in their own timed categories on Saturday, March 17. The Alkydigger Nostalgia Eliminator 1 (4.65), N.E. 2 (5.00), and N.E. 3 (5.50) are all +/-0.05, while OFAA are a heads-up class.


Defending SHRA champions are Tommy Drozd (NE1), Bruce Dodson (NE2), Doug Morrison (NE3), and Ronnie Smith (Super Stock).


Also scheduled was a round of IHRA Summit Super Series bracket racing. After several earlier tries were postponed by rain, some during the race or qualifying, the local bracket racers are itchy to get their first win of the season on the eighth-mile strip just outside of San Antonio.


The partly cloudy conditions kept the track temperatures down to near the ideal range, but twice during the day a shower delayed the action. The only major incident was OFAA racer Donny Massey, whose engine decided to disassemble itself at the 330-foot mark. Despite Massey wearing his diaper, parts and oil were slung all the way through the top end. Several timing blocks also suffered some injury, but cars and drivers were alright. (See separate OFAA report linked at the end of this article.)


Alkydigger Nostalgia Eliminator 1

The NE1 finals was a match up between the altered of 2017 SHRA champ, Tommy Drozd and the slingshot dragster of Keith Zimmerer. Zimmerer had a slight edge at the start but Drozd was able to run him down, without breaking out, to secure the win. Drozd (.051) 4.667 @ 140.93 defeats Zimmerer (.030) 4.724 @ 144.32


Alkydigger Nostalgia Eliminator 2

It was Jason Scott, in his Altered and Jeff Cameron, in the Dooley & Sons Hot Rod Shop, Austin Panel Truck paired up for the NE2 finals. Cameron put a .003 light on Scott and that was the difference as Scott outran Cameron, but lost on the holeshot. Cameron (.003) 5.143 @ 133.85 defeats Scott (.074) 5.096 @ 132.24


Alkydigger Nostalgia Eliminator 3

The NE3 finals saw a local racer going head to head with a SHRA regular. Former SAR track Champion Ryan McDonnell, in his San Antonio Hydro Graphix, 23 Ford Altered left on the defending champion Morrison, who ran the index number, to get the victory by the holeshot. McDonnell (.081) 5.553 @ 115.92 defeats Doug Morrison (.157) 5.502 @ 122.58

Nostalgia Super Stocks

The Super Stock finals was a Chevy vs. Dodge match up with Doug Watkins in his Chevelle against Vic Corlett in his Dodge Dart. Watkins was wheels up first on green, then was only a bit off his dial-in to take the victory over Corlett. Watkins (6.41) 6.480 @ 91.71 defeats Corlett (6.73) 6.975 @ 98.88




Electronics (Box)

In the Electronics (Box) finals it was Mike Atkinson (Cibolo) going head to head with Brian Wenske (Cedar Creek). Both left with nearly identical reaction times, but it was Atkinson in his 1990 Dodge Daytona running his number to take home the hardware over Wenske in his Altered Roadster.

Atkinson (5.47) 5.477 @ 124.69 defeats Wenske (5.53) 5.583 @ 122.22.


Atkinson took out Jeremy Wenske, Matt Esper, Jeff Rabedeau, Greg Meuth and Rick Shafer. B. Wenske trailered Brandon Bass, Kenneth Hillin, D. Smith, Wes Bendele and got a bye into the finals.


Foot Brake (No-box)


The Foot Brake (No-box) class never made it to the finals, something never seen by this reporter. Five drivers, either due to lateness of the race or four men afraid to race a woman (LOL), opted to split everything and not even run. The quintet of co-winners were Laurie Vontour (San Antonio), Mac Garcia (San Antonio), Gene Herbold (Seguin), Gabriel Hernandez (San Antonio) and Mad Mike (Pleasanton) on his motorcycle.



Gaspard (near lane) (7.25) 7.257 @ 95.95 defeats Spencer (10.03) 10.025 @ 74.70.


The Street final saw experience against youth as Paul Gaspard in his G&G Performance, Dodge Dart went to battle with teenager, Shelby Spencer in her GMC pick-up. Both were slow on the tree but Gaspard (Marion) got the slight advantage and ran his number while Spencer (New Braunfels) broke out trying to run him down.


Gaspard bested Rhett Floyd, Brandon Spain and had a Round 1 bye. Spencer got a Round 3 bye and beat V. Hernandez and Floyd.


Jr. Dragster

Audrey Wenske (far lane) (8.90) 8.962 @ 71.21 defeats Jessika Jackson (8.59) 8.780 @ 77.03


It was an all-girl final for the Jr. Dragsters pitting Jessika Jackson (Kyle) with Audrey Wenske (Bacliff) in a Round 1 rematch that was taken by Jackson. Wenske, in her Halfscale Chassis, pretty much got the win off the tree putting an .800 in the bank on Jackson's 2001 Hayden Chassis. Wenske was closer on her number to secure the victory.


Wenske beat Slate Crisp in Round 1 with Jackson getting by Carlos DeLeon.


See the OFAA race report here



official DRO sponsors

 © 1999-2018 - Drag Racing Online and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy

fficial ponsors