The inaugural JE Pistons NMRA/NMCA West Coast Shootout presented by JE Pistons marked ProMedia’s long-awaited return to the Pacific Time Zone. Even with the last-minute class adjustments due to sound restrictions at the Auto Club Dragway in Fontana, Calif., there were eight action-packed race classes which put on an exciting show for the crowd, in addition to the giant manufacturer’s midway, car show, Hotchkis Performance Autocross and Baer Speed-Stop Challenge.

“We have verified that this is the single largest-attended event since the Super Chevy event in 2006. We are thrilled with the support of the sponsors, spectators and participants. The cooperation we received from Auto Club Dragway is unprecedented, and we are committing to returning in 2012,” said Charlie Harmon, President of NMRA and NMCA.

Mike Yurick, VP of operations, Auto Club Speedway, also commented, “It was great to see such an overwhelming turnout for the inaugural NMRA/NMCA event. All of us here enjoyed a safe and successful event and we look forward to hosting the event again next year.”

The ’70 Nova of Brian Barkley qualified second and took the Mickey Thompson Xtreme Drag Radial title over Sandi Wood.

Also, for the first time in the history of a ProMedia event, thanks to the deal between the NMCA and Aerospace Components NHRA Unleashed, the winners of each class received a coveted NHRA Wally trophy.

In Xtreme Drag Radial, Sandi Wold took the number-one spot on the five-car qualifying ladder with a 7.74 at over 187 miles per hour. That earned Wold the competition bye in the first round, and drew Bobby Frye in the second round. Wold advanced to the final round easily as Frye had problems. On the other side of the ladder Terry Barkley was the recipient of a competition single when his competition was a no-show in the first round, and got the second available bye in the second round, to meet Wold in the final. The pair pulled into the pre-stage beams together, but once Barkley lit the stage bulbs, Wold timed out before she could light he stage bulb, handing the win to Barkley.