Volume X, Issue 6, Page 82

The Drag Radial class continues to gain momentum. Al Jimenez took the top spot with Dave Bowman next up. Lonnie Patrick sat in third followed by Hubbard, Raygoza, Kent, Kopp, Williams, Bartlett and Frye. Jimenez, Kopp and Bowman all advanced.

In the semi-finals Jimenez used his performance advantage, running an 8.194 at 176.05 to send Kopp home. Bowman took a bye into the final and the showdown with number one qualifier, Jimenez. The final saw Bowman falling off the pace and Jimenez took the win with an 8.276/178.04 pass.

A poorly supported Pro Stock class saw number one qualifier Mike Pritchard take the win with his flamed Mustang over Gary Brandt’s version.

Bill Hickok was in championship form, as he sat on the pole for the Modified Production class with Glen Walton’s show-quality ’64 Falcon. Dan Tyack was next, followed by Martinez and Sendejas. Hickok and Tyack advanced to the final with Wild Bill taking the win 9.751/116.20 to Tyack’s 9.993/100.02.

The event saw Greg Dreher dominate both AFX and Open Comp.

A/Gas was won by number-two qualifier Mike Ford, who sent Dean Lindsay packing.

Fourteen racers were challenging for the B/Gas title and that went to Brian Rogers. Rick Logsdon tried hard but ran under the 8.60 index. The C/Gas class went to Al White, who denied John James in Derrol Hubbard’s ’32 Ford.

D/Gas had sixteen cars vie for the title. Al McGuiness and Jody George showcased the British-American rivalry that the gasser wars were famous for. On this weekend it was all Uncle Sam as McGuiness took his ’65 Mustang to the win over George’s ’57 Morris Minor, 10.646 to a 10.685.