Volume X, Issue 6, Page 106

Pro Stick racers Jeremy Wible’s Camaro and Russ White’s GTO at Beaver Springs.

The racing season in the Northeast region of the U.S. has been slow to start, as area tracks have faced numerous rainouts. Beaver Springs Dragway in Benfer, PA. has endured seven rainouts in their 14 total points races (Friday and Sunday). The Pro Stick group of racers have also faced raindrops as the first race April 26 at Summerduck, VA, got hit with rain, but at their second try, May 4 at Mason Dixon Dragway in Boonsboro, MD, 42 cars attended. The Pro Stick field at BSD had 41 cars entered on Saturday, May 24, and 40 on Sunday, May 25.

Pro Stick features a simple set of rules: No dragsters, no delay boxes of any type, all cars must use transmission with a clutch or clutchless (Lenco) is also permitted, five-tenths, full tree with handicap start, and a maximum dial-in of 11.99 seconds. 


Wayne Whittington from Winchester, PA, went four rounds on Saturday in his 1981 Camaro. Here he tries it on three tires.

First round winners were: Ted Taylor, Dean Leah, Mike Rowe, Merv Moyer JR, Ronnie Ward, Barry Parson, Frank Jenkins, Andy Stone, Dennis Malick, Gordon Foose, Russ White, Wayne Whittington, Chris Shaffer, Ted McGann, Fred Leyland, Ron Settles, George Kull, Michael Ford, and Tom Evans.

Round 2 saw Moyer def. Parson, Jenkins def. McGann, Leyland def. Row, Taylor def. Stone, Settles def. White, Kull def. Malick, Whittington def. Evans, Ford def. Ward, Leah def. Foose, and Chris Shaffer with the bye into round 3.

Round 3 highlights had Shaffer cut a .039 light to cover Taylor, Settles over a red-lighting Leyland, Moyer over Jenkins, Kull with a .039 light (second of the round) over Ford, and Whittington over a Leah’s driveshaft-breaking Camaro.

Fred Leyland drove John Rayford’s 1965 GTO.

George Kull and his ’79 Capri are from Ottsville, PA.