NHRA Division 3 banquet moves to Indiana Convention Center

The 47th annual “Land of the Winners” awards ceremony honoring the NHRA North Central Regional and Divisional champions will be held in the Sagamore Ballroom of the Indiana Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis on Saturday evening, Dec. 14.  

The 2013 season champions from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, NHRA Summit Racing Series, NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series and NHRA Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League will be honored. Among the champions being honored will be first time NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Regional Champions Brandon Booher in Top Alcohol Dragster and Andy Bohl in Top Alcohol Funny Car. Additionally, special awards will be presented to Driver of the Year, Crew Chief of the Year and a number of other categories.

Veteran announcer Leo Taugher will serve as the evening’s emcee.

The annual North Central Division member track operator meetings along with the tech inspector and safety seminar will also be conducted on Saturday morning at the PRI show, which runs Dec. 12-14.

Tickets are now on sale for the NHRA banquet, which is open to all racers and fans. Contact Joan Robertson in the North Central Division office via e-mail at jrobertson@nhra.com or by phone 765-689-8727. Tickets are $60 and must be purchased in advance by Dec. 6. [11/15/2013]

San Antonio to host arm-drop drags

It will be drag racing the old fashioned way on Saturday, Nov. 30, at San Antonio Raceway. In what is billed as the largest street-race gathering in Texas, over 20 grudge racers are already confirmed to be vying for bragging rights. Host for the arm drop will be Mike Murillo, 14-time champion.

For more info go to www.sanantonioraceway.com. [11/15/2013]

Alchemy? ANDRA to change gold trophies to silver

One of ANDRA drag racing’s traditional trophies will be in for a change next season with the ANDRA plaque to be replaced by a silver version of the iconic gold Christmas tree trophy handed out at Australian championship events.

The plaques have been awarded to winners of championship rounds outside of national events (the Nationals, Winternationals, Nitro Champs and Westernationals) for several decades of ANDRA’s history.

ANDRA CEO Malcolm Bulley said the silver trophies would make a great change for racers and quickly become a coveted piece for any trophy cabinet.

While tradition is important to maintain in drag racing, it is also important to ensure that the trophies symbolize the efforts put in by racers to earn wins at championship rounds and it was felt the time was right to move to a trophy that better rewards teams.

The first of the new silver trophies will be awarded at the first round of the Aeroflow Sportsman Drag Racing Championship, to be held at Portland’s Fuchs South Coast Raceway in January. [11/15/2013]

Texas Thanksgiving Turkey Shoot scheduled for Edinburg

If you can move after eating all that turkey on Thursday, a “Thanksgiving Turkey Shoot” drag race will be held Nov. 29-30 at Edinburg Raceway in Edinburg, Texas.

Friday will feature a Test & Tune with bracket racing. Saturday will have Electronics, No-Box and Jr. Dragster brackets along with a Gunslinger Shootout and 5.80 Index racing on the eighth mile. Purse for the event will be $19,000.

For more information go to www.edinburgraceway.com [11/15/2013]