Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame inducts twenty-two

Back row (from left): Brad Francis, Greg Ozubko, Simon Menzies, Alan Kenny, Kevin Power, Rob Flynn, Gary Beck, Bob Papirnick, Eddy Bryck, Ray Peets, Don MacCallum, Robert Slater. Front row: Greg Nickerson, Al Billes, Jim Wildgoose, Suzanne Poirier (Gérard Milette's crew chief and partner), John Scotti, CDRHF Founder, Gérard Milette, Robert Bannon, and Bob Aubertin. 


Twenty-two Canadians were recognized for their contributions to the world of drag racing during the Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame (CDRHF) 3rd Annual Gala held on Saturday, Nov. 18, at the Sheraton Hotel, in Laval, Quebec.


World Champions Gary Beck and Alan Kenny were among the individuals inducted this year.


The other inductees were: Robert Bannon, Al Billes, Eddy Bryck, Guy Drouin (posthumous), Rob Flynn, Brad Francis, Gordon Jenner, Dan MacCallum, Simon Menzies, Gerard Milette, Greg Nickerson, Greg Ozubko, Bob Papirnick, Ray Peets, John Phillipps, Kevin Power, Herb Rodgers (posthumous), Robert Slater and Jim Wildgoose.


The evening included notable guests such as five-time Pro Stock World Champion Jeg Coughlin Jr. and NHRA’s Senior VP of Racing Operation (and 2015 CDRHF inductee) Graham Light. The ceremony ended with the surprise induction of Bob Aubertin, track announcer for over four decades and current Director of the Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame. 

Hoffman is a three-time champion

Tom Hoffman clinched his third season championship of the Victory Nostalgia Super Stock group. Dennis Mothershed, owner of series sponsor Victory Performance Parts, awarded Hoffman a special firesuit in recognition. That’s Tom’s wife, Helen, looking on. Quite an accomplishment, Tom!

Spring Fling Vegas purses to increase next year

In 2016, when Peter Biondo and Kyle Seipel introduced the Spring Fling Million in Vegas, they promised huge guaranteed payouts. In 2018, the Spring Fling partners will again not disappoint.


“For 2018, we are DOUBLING our Guaranteed Winner’s Purse on Million Dollar Friday and also increasing the Wednesday, Thursday, and Saturday’s purses substantially,” Biondo announced. “It will now be, at minimum, a Guaranteed $200,000 to win on Friday and $30,000 to win on the three surrounding races with no minimum car count required.”


Friday’s main event winner’s purse will again go up as the car counts go up with the winner walking away with $500,000 if the car count goes over 400, and $1,000,000 to the winner if the car count goes over 550. And as always, if the car count falls between 200 and 400, the winner’s take will match the car count multiplied by 1,000.


The 2018 K&N Spring Fling Million presented by Optima Batteries will be held at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on April 17-21.  

IRGSE buys European road racing school

IRG Sports + Entertainment has acquired the Bertil Roos Racing School, a European-style road racing school. IRGSE is the owner of the IHRA and IHRA Australia.


Bertil Roos will continue to run programs at existing locations and will add resident driving schools at Palm Beach International Raceway, which began the week of Nov. 11, and at Memphis International Raceway in 2018. IRGSE owns both of those racing facilities, along with Maryland International Raceway, Cordova International Raceway and the exclusive Palm Beach Driving Club.


In addition, IRGSE acquired the complete Formula fleet and spares from the Skip Barber Racing School. These vehicles are undergoing complete overhauls and will be permanently situated at the Palm Beach and Memphis Bertil Roos Racing School locations.


Bertil Roos Racing School will service seven track locations in 2018 with a fleet of 45 open-wheel Formula cars and 20 full-bodied cars, along with offering trackside support. Corporate headquarters will be based in West Palm Beach, Fla. 

New Product of the Day


Mr. Gasket LS Cam Change Gasket Kit

The new Mr. Gasket LS Cam Change Kits provide all the gaskets, seals, and lifter guides required to install a cam in an LS Series engine in one convenient kit and save you the hassle and unnecessary expense of buying them all separately. Three different kits are available – one for LS1/LS2/LS6 engines with cathedral-port cylinder heads (part number 61010G), one for LS3/L92 applications (part number 61011G) (shown), and one for LS7-style ports (part number 61012G). Each kit includes a high-quality OE-style timing cover gasket, timing cover seal, water pump gaskets, intake seals, valve cover gaskets, and lifter guides.



official DRO sponsors

 © 1999-2017 - Drag Racing Online and Racing Net Source LLC - 607 Seib Drive, O'Fallon, MO 63366 Phone: 636.272.6301 - Privacy Policy

fficial ponsors